SSC

Scientific Steering Committee members

Individual scientists were appointed to serve on the GLOBEC SSC by the programme's co-sponsors, initially for a period of typically 3 years, which could be renewed once.

Members of the final GLOBEC SSC:
Jürgen Alheit, Kevern Cochrane, Ruben Escribano, John Field (Vice-chair), Roger Harris, Eileen Hofmann, James Hurrell, Astrid Jarre, Salvador Lluch-Cota, Olivier Maury, Rosemary Ommer, Ian Perry, Jeff Runge, Yasunori Sakurai, Svein Sundby, Francisco Werner (Chair), Brad de Young

Juergen Alheit Dr Jürgen Alheit
1996-2002; 2003-2009 ex-officio Focus 1
Baltic Sea Research Institute
University of Rostock
Seestrasse 15
D-18119 Warnemüende
GERMANY
Tel: +49 381 51 97 208
Fax:+49 381 51 97 440
e-mail: juergen.alheit@io-warnemuende.de
Kevern Cochrane Dr Kevern Cochrane
2006-2009
FAO
Via delle Terme di Caracalla
00100 Roma
ITALY
Tel: +39 (06570) 56109
e-mail: Kevern.Cochrane@fao.org
Ruben Escribano Dr Ruben Escribano
2005-2009
Estacion de Biologia Marina Dichato
Departamento de Oceanografia
Universidad de Concepcion
Concepción
CHILE
Tel: +56 41 204520
e-mail: rescribano@udec.cl
Roger Harris Dr Roger Harris
1996-2002; 2003-2009 ex-officio Focus 2
Plymouth Marine Laboratory
Prospect Place
West Hoe
Plymouth PL1 3DH
UNITED KINGDOM
Tel: +44 1752 633400
Fax: +44 1752 633101
e-mail: r.harris@pml.ac.uk
Eileen Hofmann Prof Eileen Hofmann
1996-2002; 2003-2009 ex-officio SO GLOBEC
Center for Coastal Physical Oceanography
Old Dominion University
Crittenton Hall
Norfolk, VA 23529
USA
Tel: +1 757 683 5334
Fax: +1 757 683 5550
e-mail: hofmann@ccpo.odu.edu
James Hurrell Dr James Hurrell
2005-2009
National Center for Atmospheric Research
PO Box 3000
Boulder
Colorado 80307
USA
Tel: +1 303 497 1383
e-mail: jhurrell@ucar.edu
Astrid Jarre Dr Astrid Claudia Jarre
2006-2009
Danish Institute for Fisheries Research and
Marine Research Institute and Zoology Department
University of Cape Town
Private Bag X3, Rondebosch
7701 Cape Town
South Africa
Tel: +27 21 650 3616
Fax: +27 21 650 3301
e-mail: astrid.jarre@uct.ac.za
Salvador Lluch-Cota Salvador E. Lluch-Cota
2006-2009
Northwest Biological Research Center
P. O. Box 128
La Paz, BCS
Mexico 23000
MEXICO
Tel: 52(612)1238432
Fax: 52(612)1253625
e-mail: slluch@cibnor.mx

Olivier Maury Dr Olivier Maury
2006-2009
Institut de Recherche pour le Développement
Centre de Recherche Halieutique Méditerranéenne et Tropicale
av. Jean Monnet
B.P. 171
34203 Sète cedex,
FRANCE
Tel: +33 (0) 499 57 32 28
Fax: +33 (0) 499 57 32 95
e-mail: Olivier.Maury@ird.fr
Ian Perry Dr R. Ian Perry
1996-2002 vice-chair; 2003-7 ex-officio Focus 4; 2008-2009 chair
Pacific Biological Station
Department of Fisheries and Oceans
Nanaimo, B.C. V9T 6N7
CANADA
Tel: 1 604 756 7137
Fax: 1 604 756 7053
e-mail: perryi@pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Jeff Runge Prof Jeff Runge
2003-2009
School of Marine Sciences
University of Maine
Gulf of Maine Research Institute
350 Commercial Street
Portland, ME 04101
USA
Tel: +1 207 772 6855
Fax: +1 207 228 1652
e-mail: jrunge@gmri.org
Yasunori Sakurai Professor Yasunori Sakurai
2006-2009
Division of Marine Bioresource and Environment Science
Graduate School of Fisheries Sciences
Hokkaido University
3-1-1,Minato-cho
Hakodate
Hokkaido
041-8611 JAPAN
Tel: 81-138-40-8861
Fax: 81-138-40-8863
e-mail: sakurai@fish.hokudai.ac.jp
Svein Sundby Prof Svein Sundby
2006-2009
Institute of Marine Research
P. O. Box 1870
N-5817 Nordnes
Bergen
NORWAY
Tel: 47-5523 8468
Fax: 47-5523 8584
e-mail: svein.sundby@imr.no
Francisco Werner Dr Francisco Werner
2000-2002, 2003-2007 chair, 2008-2009
Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences
71 Dudley Road
Rutgers University
New Brunswick
NJ 08901
USA
Tel: +1 732 932 6555
Fax: +1 732 932 8578
e-mail: cisco@marine.rutgers.edu
Brad de Young Dr Brad de Young
ex officio Focus 3, 2005-2009
Memorial University
St. John's
Newfoundland A1B 3X7
CANADA
Tel: +1 709 737 8839
Fax: +1 709 737 8739
e-mail: bdeyoung@physics.mun.ca